top of page

The

Gypsy

Soull

Stay In The Know:

Why Vegan? Why Now?

I've never been one to be too concerned about my eating/drinking habits, but I wouldn't say I'm excessively unhealthy; I'm actually a really picky eater but it seems like I've been convicting myself with being more thoughtful with what I eat. I have always admired those diehard nutrition-savvy people, but I never thought I had the self-discipline let alone sufficient interest to make a big change like that. The idea has been continuously presenting itself to me so it seems like that's the next journey I will be setting out on.

woke

I grew up in a semi-normal African-American household so you can imagine my diet consisting of a lot of meats, starches, salts, and sugar. It's funny because it seems like literally all the things my dad emphasized to eat as a child, I have learned that those things are all very harmful to the human body. For example, milk was probably what I drank the most of as a kid. I love chocolate milk. I had at least one cup of white and chocolate milk per day. I was just always told how important milk was. It helps promote strong bones and teeth... Then I watched this documentary that informed me that milk is literally watered down puss. [movie: What The Health] If you really think about it, we are the only "animals" that drink other animals' milk. We are literally using other animals as the middle-men to get all the nutrients we can get directly from plants.I don't even want to get into how disgusting the meat industry is. Honestly, just the fact that I have been fed poison my whole life has really opened my eyes and pushed me to take more accountability for myself. I don't blame my dad though. I'm learning that these aren't things that we are taught growing up. In fact, we are actually taught the exact opposite of what's healthy and nutritious.

The first step that I have been consciously making towards being a healthier me, is just drinking more bottled water. Not just drinking any kind but drinking only naturally filtered spring water; nothing unnaturally filtered. Processed water has additional chemicals that are harmful and the man-made "nutrients" in bottled processed water are not healthy or beneficial like the natural stuff. I would recommend Fiji or Evian. I just started actively drinking more water everyday and I have already seen and felt a difference. I have literally only been working on this for about a couple months but my face has gotten so clear! I have just a natural glow about my skin to the point where I can totally give up foundation. I am really just so amazed by that alone. I know that there are way more benefits to come. I just have this big feeling that so many more benefits are going to arise as I become more healthy and I can't wait to find out how superhuman I can become.


Subscribe Now!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
bottom of page