top of page

The

Gypsy

Soull

Stay In The Know:

God Speaks - Are you listening?


Over the years I can't tell you how many times I have heard someone (especially religious leaders/elders) mention how God spoke to them or laid something on their heart. These kinds of statements would always pique my interest and curiosity because I never really understood what they meant by that. When I began to really question God and take an interest in spirituality, my biggest concern was how is God speaking to all these people so clearly and I have never heard Him myself!?

I began to ask several people about their own experiences when it comes to communicating with God in the hopes that this would help clarify what I had to do to hear my Creator's voice. I spoke to religious leaders, family members, and even friends about how God speaks to them and not one person gave me the exact same answer. Not only that, but no one could clearly explain to me why God could not simply speak to me as one person may speak to another so that I could truly know and discern it to be a sign from heaven. Over time I got very frustrated because I could not find a clear answer and I felt that there must be something wrong with me because I could not hear God's voice and no one was able to help me decode the mystery. In fact, I became so upset and defeated about this struggle that I went as far as to tell people that God must not "fuck with me" because he doesn't talk to me- which I now know is a lie from the devil and somewhat of a curse I put on myself- and I had given up my search.

I knew God was real but I always felt like there was something I was missing or doing wrong because I could not recall a time that I received a definite message from the Lord. Granted, the Lord may not always communicate with his followers the same and He may not always communicate with us audibly. I couldn't wrap my mind around that detail and I felt that if He could send his son (Jesus) down to us personally to share the Word, then He should be able to speak to me in a way I would be able to personally identify. But He speaks in various ways...

Some of the ways God may communicate to us include: through dreams or visions, through the Bible, through your conscience, through other people, and even through signs or consolations.

I started to notice about a few years ago, that I was able to find various connections or signs in everyday life, important events, and through conversations with people, etc. I also began obtaining information and transferring information through my mind and I now believe that these are certainly graces and gifts by God to communicate with me and through me. Sometimes I would have my doubts about it and wonder if it is just my own thoughts or a coincidence that these instances would occur, but it became so consistent that I knew it was God and not just me. I also began to take up a recent interest in meditation this year and I found that in being quiet and stilling myself and my mind that I am able to make out more clearly the voice of God. Now when I think back on myself in my earlier years questioning God: it's ridiculous that I basically was demanding Him to speak to me directly and personally without taking any active or earnest interest in seeking Him or developing a relationship. How could you begin to recognize a voice from someone calling you if you barely knew them? I wasn't putting in the effort and was simply expecting an immediate response from God. Doing things that way won't get you very far.

Now I have came across someone else who has become very near and dear to my heart (my boyfriend) and he has shared so many of his personal experiences with God and it has really rekindled a fire in my heart to seek Him out. I want to not only hear God, but experience Him. I know that I need to get in His word more and learn about Jesus and His ways; but I am also excited because I feel like I know now what I need to practice at to get better at tuning into what the Holy Spirit has to say. The more you spend time with God (reading the Bible, praying and meditating, walking in Him, etc.) the more He will speak to you and the stronger your relationship with Him will grow.

So for those of you who may be wondering about this exact same thing and are looking for ways to connect with the Creator and be able to know it is Him that is speaking- I would like to briefly jot down a few tips that I have been given that may help you in your walk:

1. Read the Word- I know it sounds super cliche, but the more familiar you are with God's word- easier it is to discern his messages to you and ensure that the messenger really is God and not your own mind or even the devil. Not only that, but the Word has power like a double-edged sword. You can read a scripture 3 days in a row and obtain a new understanding about it each time because his Word is alive.

2. Take time/Make time for God- The more deliberately you seek God, the closer you will find yourself with him. It's supposed to be a relationship; so make time to pray and meditate and read his word just like how you take time to chill with your friends or spend time with family members.

3. Be still- A lot of people are taught to get on their knees, ask God for whatever they need, and then say amen and go on about their business. If we are not still and quiet, we will miss what he is trying to say. Our lives are so loud and distracting- which makes it hard to hard for us to hear that small still voice. Not only that, but if you are simply asking God for things in prayer and then continuing about your day that's not fair to Him because you aren't giving Him the chance to respond. This is where meditation comes in.

4. Stop seeking outward and look INWARD- When you think of God as being some giant being or force way out there somewhere in space looking down on all of us- it creates an unnecessary separation. God is everywhere and he is inside you.

5. Be open- God will speak to you through any and everything. Be open to His signs and messages and simply bring your awareness up higher.


Subscribe Now!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
bottom of page